FIRE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

December 20, 2024, 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Department of Human Resources, 1 South Van Ness Avenue, Bayview Room, San Francisco California, 94102

President Morgan called the meeting to order at 8:54 a.m.

1. ROLL CALL

Commission President Vice President Commissioner Commissioner Commissioner	Armie Morgan Marcy Fraser Stephen Nakajo Katherine Feinstein Paula Collins	Present Present Present Excused Present
Commissioner	Paula Collins	Present
	Katherine Feinstein	Excused

2. VOTE ON WHETHER TO CONDUCT ITEM NO. 3 IN CLOSED SESSION (San Francisco Administrative Code Section 67.10(d)) [Action]

There was no public comment related to agenda item #3.

Vice President Fraser moved to conduct item 3 in closed session. Commissioner Collins Seconded. President Morgan and Commissioner Nakajo voted to pass the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Commission convened in closed session at 8:58 a.m.

3. POSITION OF FIRE CHIEF—PERSONNEL EXCEPTION (Government Code Section 54957(b)(1) & S.F. Admin Code 67.10(b)) [Discussion and possible action] Conduct interviews, discussion, and possible action regarding selection of candidates for nomination for appointment to the position of Fire Chief.

Also in closed session were Commission Secretary Kathy Aguas-Aclan, DHR staff member Jen Lo and Lisa Pigula. Joining the closed session at approximately 1:45 p.m., were Jen Huber from the City Attorney's office, and Anna Biasbas from DHR.

Commission reconvened in open session at 1:56 p.m.

4. COMMISSION MAY REPORT ON ANY ACTION TAKEN IN CLOSED SESSION AND VOTE TO ELECT WHETHER TO DISCLOSE ANY OR ALL DISCUSSION ON ITEM NO. 3 HELD IN CLOSED SESSION (San Francisco Administrative Code Section 67.12(a) and (b)) [Action]

President Morgan reported that the Commission voted on one or more nominations for appointment to the position of Fire Chief, and to forward one or more nominations to the Mayor for their consideration.

Vice President Fraser moved to not disclose all discussions on item 3 in closed session. Commissioner Collins Seconded. President Morgan and Commissioner Nakajo voted to pass the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5.

ADJOURNMENT President Morgan adjourned the meeting at 1:58 p.m.